Meditations on the Gita - Ram Dass


Of the great seers I am Bhrigu; of words I am the syllable Om

Of sacrifices I am japa, the silent chanting of the holy names, and amongst immovable things I am the Himalaya mountains.



If one offers Me with love and devotion a flower, fruit, a leaf or even water, I accept it.


Whatever you do or eat, whatever you offer or give away, whatever austerities you perform - do as an offering unto Me.



From the highest sphere in the material world, down to the lowest, 

all are places of misery, a birth and death take place. 

But whoever joins Me in my abode, is never born again, O son of Kunti.



The thoughts of My pure devotees dwell in Me, their lives are surrendered to me,

and they derive great satisfaction, joy, enlightening one another and speaking about Me.



My material nature* is made up of eight separate energies; earth, water, fire, air, ether, mind, intelligence and false ego.



Those who seek me in all things, and all things in Me, are never lost to Me nor am I ever lost to them.



Know for certain that whatever is found in this creation, arises out of a combination of mind, material and spiritual energies.

I am the origin and dissolution of all things.

There is nothing beyond me, Arjuna.



Everything rests upon Me, as pearls are strung on a thread.



Bewildered spirit souls, under the influence of the three modes of material nature* think themselves as doers of activity,

which are in fact actually carried out by nature.

*The Three gunas of prakriti



As a lamp in a windless place does not waver,


so the yogi whose mind is focused remains always steady in meditation on the transcendental Self.



For the one who is born, death is certain. For one who has died, birth is certain. Since you cannot avoid either faith you should not lament.


No effort on the yogic path is ever lost.

Nor can any obstacle ever hold one back forever.

Just a little progress on this path can protect one from the greatest fear.



The Brahman’s work is borne of his nature and qualities; peacefulness, self-control, asceticism, forgiveness, honesty, learning,

wisdom and a firm faith in the Supreme Lord.



There are three modes* of material nature; goodness, passion and ignorance. 

Though the living being is imperishable, he is bound in the body by these three modes.

*The three gunas; sattva, rajas and tamas.



What is night for all creatures is the time of awakening for the self-controlled;

and the time of awakening for all beings is night for the introspective sage.



After innumerable births and deaths, those who are wise surrender unto Me.

Knowing Me to be the cause of all causes, and all that exists. 

Such souls are very rare.



Banner - Scene from the Mahabharata of Ramayana , 1800 - 1900 - RIJKSmuseum Amsterdam